Want zabiha meat delivered to your door? We compared five US online sellers on what matters most to Muslim shoppers: who certifies the meat, whether it is hand-slaughtered, whether the animal is stunned, and how shipping works. Only One Stop Halal clearly says it does not stun. Boxed Halal offers free shipping on its subscription boxes. Midamar has the widest range. Every fact below comes from the seller's own website, checked on November 1, 2026. We did not taste or order anything.
The five sellers at a glance
| Seller | Certifier | Stunning | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| One Stop Halal | HFSAA, on its certification page | Not stunned | Shoppers who want no stunning, stated clearly |
| Boxed Halal | HFSAA | Not stated | A regular meat box with free shipping |
| Midamar | Mostly ISA | Not stated | The widest range, including deli and prepared halal foods |
| Halal Pastures | Not named in the page text | Not stated | Organic, farm-direct meat |
| Halal World Depot | Not named | Not stated | One order mixing several halal brands |
“Not stated” means the seller's website does not say. It does not mean the answer is no. Ask the seller.
Each seller in detail
One Stop Halal
Los Angeles, CA · Best for: Shoppers who want no stunning, stated clearly
- Certifier
- HFSAA, on its certification page. Its FAQ instead lists other agencies.
- Hand slaughter
- Yes: "All our animals are hand cut individually."
- Stunning
- Not stunned: "NO PRE-SLAUGHTER STUNNING".
- Who slaughters
- A Muslim, with the name of Allah said at slaughter.
- Ships to
- Across the USA; pickup and same-day delivery near downtown LA
- Subscription
- Not stated
- Meats
- Beef (including grass-fed and wagyu), chicken, lamb, goat, turkey
- Where it comes from
- Small family farms in the USA; it says it never imports halal meat.
- Shipping cost
- $10 to CA, AZ, NV (free over $100); $15 to WA, OR, ID, NM, CO, UT (free over $150); by weight elsewhere. Packed with dry ice or gel packs.
- USDA inspection
- Yes: "inspected and approved by USDA".
Its FAQ names other certifiers (such as IFANCA and JAKIM) than its certification page (HFSAA). Ask which certifier covers the meat you order.
Boxed Halal
Chicago, IL · Best for: A regular meat box with free shipping
- Certifier
- HFSAA (Halal Food Standards Alliance of America)
- Hand slaughter
- Yes: "Hand-slaughtered by a person. Not a machine."
- Stunning
- Not stated
- Who slaughters
- A Muslim: animals are "individually blessed, and swiftly slaughtered by a Muslim".
- Ships to
- Continental US (its FAQ says anywhere in the US)
- Subscription
- Yes: Small Box $179.99 or Large Box $309.99, every 2, 4, 6 or 8 weeks.
- Meats
- Beef (grass-fed, grain-finished; wagyu burgers), lamb, chicken, turkey, salmon
- Where it comes from
- Not stated by country or farm
- Shipping cost
- Free on its boxes. Shipped frozen.
- USDA inspection
- Yes: facilities "inspected and approved" by the USDA.
Midamar
Cedar Rapids, IA (since 1974) · Best for: The widest range, including deli and prepared halal foods
- Certifier
- Mostly ISA (Islamic Services of America); it says it works with several certifiers.
- Hand slaughter
- All beef hand-cut zabiha. Some chicken is machine-slaughtered and labeled so.
- Stunning
- Not stated
- Who slaughters
- Not stated
- Ships to
- Lower 48 states (its shipping page says all 50; Alaska and Hawaii by 2-day only)
- Subscription
- Yes, repeat deliveries offered
- Meats
- Beef (also franks, deli, breakfast beef), lamb, goat, chicken, turkey, prepared foods
- Where it comes from
- All slaughtered and produced in the USA.
- Shipping cost
- $9.99 flat on orders over $99 (not orders over $500). Packed with dry ice; may arrive cold rather than frozen.
- USDA inspection
- Not stated
Its FAQ and shipping page disagree on which states it ships to and which days it ships.
Halal Pastures
Hudson Valley, NY · Best for: Organic, farm-direct meat
- Certifier
- Not named in the page text (it shows certificate images).
- Hand slaughter
- Yes: "slaughtered by hand"; no "factory line slaughter plants".
- Stunning
- Not stated
- Who slaughters
- The name of Allah is said at slaughter.
- Ships to
- Continental US (not Alaska, Hawaii or Puerto Rico)
- Subscription
- Not stated
- Meats
- Beef, turkey, chicken (its beef page says only listed beef ships right now)
- Where it comes from
- A certified organic farm in the Hudson Valley; all processed in New York.
- Shipping cost
- By weight and zone, no free shipping. Frozen with dry ice, FedEx Ground, ships Mondays and Tuesdays.
- USDA inspection
- Not stated
Halal World Depot
Online marketplace · Best for: One order mixing several halal brands
- Certifier
- Not named; it lists approved vendors (Thomas Farms, Crescent Foods, Saad Wholesale, Sharifa Halal).
- Hand slaughter
- Only its whole turkey is described as hand-slaughtered.
- Stunning
- Not stated
- Who slaughters
- Not stated
- Ships to
- USA, not Alaska or Hawaii
- Subscription
- Yes: 5% off the first two deliveries, then 10%, every 4, 6 or 8 weeks.
- Meats
- Chicken, beef, lamb, goat, veal, deli meats, steaks, marinated meats, whole turkey
- Where it comes from
- "Over 90% of our products are sourced locally"; vendor per product not stated.
- Shipping cost
- $35.99 under $50, $29.99 on $50 to $149.99, $10 on $150 to $198.99, free from $199. Frozen and cold-packed.
- USDA inspection
- Not stated
How to choose
1. Start with your own standard
Decide what you need: hand-slaughtered only, no stunning, a certifier you trust. Then rule out any seller that does not state it.
2. Check the certifier yourself
Certifiers set different rules, especially on stunning and machine slaughter. A seller that names its certifier lets you check that certifier's standards.
3. Read the product, not just the brand
Some sellers carry both hand- and machine-slaughtered meat. Midamar, for example, labels its machine-slaughtered chicken in the product description.
4. Compare the real shipping cost
Free shipping limits range from "always free on boxes" to $199. For small orders, shipping can cost more than the meat.
For the background, see our guides to zabiha and halal and stunned meat, and our list of halal meat brands in the USA.
Questions to ask any seller
- Which certifier covers this exact product, and can I see the certificate?
- Is every animal hand-slaughtered by a Muslim, with the name of Allah said?
- Is the animal stunned before or after slaughter?
- Do you sell any machine-slaughtered meat, and how is it labeled?
- Where are the animals raised and slaughtered?
- Will my order arrive frozen, and what happens if it arrives warm?
How we compared them
- Every fact comes from the seller's own website, read on the date above. Where a seller's own pages disagree, we say so.
- We did not order, taste or inspect anything, and no seller paid to be listed.
- Left out: sellers whose websites we could not read, or that did not publish shipping or prices.
- Prices and policies change. Check the seller's site before you order.
Where can you find verified halal food in Houston?
On HalalVouch, every restaurant shows its verification tier, whether its meat is zabiha, and the date we last checked, so you read evidence, not just a claim. Here is how we verify.
Browse verified restaurants →Halal meat delivery: frequently asked questions
Which halal meat delivery services do not stun the animal?
Of the five sellers we compared, only One Stop Halal clearly says it does not stun ("NO PRE-SLAUGHTER STUNNING"). The others do not say either way, so ask them directly if it matters to you.
Is halal meat delivery hand-slaughtered?
Not always. One Stop Halal, Boxed Halal and Halal Pastures say all their animals are hand-slaughtered. Midamar says all its beef is hand-cut zabiha but sells some machine-slaughtered chicken, which it labels. Halal World Depot only describes its turkey as hand-slaughtered.
Which halal meat delivery has free shipping?
Boxed Halal says shipping is free on all its boxes. Halal World Depot ships free from $199. One Stop Halal ships free over $100 to California, Arizona and Nevada, and over $150 to some other western states. Midamar charges a flat $9.99 on orders over $99.
Is there a halal meat subscription box?
Yes. Boxed Halal offers a Small Box at $179.99 and a Large Box at $309.99, every 2, 4, 6 or 8 weeks. Halal World Depot and Midamar also offer repeat deliveries.
Is meat shipped by mail safe?
The sellers here ship frozen or cold with dry ice or gel packs. Midamar notes an order may arrive cold rather than frozen, and gives safe-use times of about 7 days for beef and 3 days for poultry in the fridge. Put it in the freezer or fridge as soon as it arrives.
Did HalalVouch taste or order from these sellers?
No. We compared what each seller says on its own website about certification, slaughter and shipping. We did not order, taste or inspect anything, and we were not paid by any seller.
HalalVouch presents evidence and the factors to check. We do not issue Islamic rulings. For a ruling on a specific case, ask a scholar from your school of Islamic law. Products, suppliers and practices change, so confirm directly before you rely on this guide.
Documents we checked
- One Stop Halal: halal and shipping information (checked November 1, 2026)
- Boxed Halal: halal and shipping information (checked November 1, 2026)
- Midamar: halal and shipping information (checked November 1, 2026)
- Halal Pastures: halal and shipping information (checked November 1, 2026)
- Halal World Depot: halal and shipping information (checked November 1, 2026)
Sources
- Qur'an 2:173 (trans. Mustafa Khattab): “He has only forbidden you ˹to eat˺ carrion, blood, swine, and what is slaughtered in the name of any other than Allah.”, cited for the prohibition of pork, blood and carrion.
- Qur'an 6:121 (trans. Mustafa Khattab): “Do not eat of what is not slaughtered in Allah's Name.”, cited for invoking God's name at slaughter.
Ingredient and recipe points describe common practice, not any particular restaurant; kitchens differ, so confirm with the restaurant. Where scholars differ, we say so rather than choose a side. How we research answers
Imran Qureshi covers Houston's halal dining scene for HalalVouch, focusing on local restaurants and zabiha verification.